Constitutional Background

In Malta the President, who has very limited powers, is elected by parliament.

The country is currently (April 2000) in the process of expanding Double Nationality for a large number of expatriates living in USA, Canada and Australia.

History and News

  • April 1999: Guido DeMarco is elected President.
  • 5 Sep 1998: Following a vote of no-confidence, Edward Fenech Adami's NP again wins general elections with a comfortable margin of 14,000 votes.
  • 26 Oct 1996: The Malta Labour Party (MLP) wins the General Election with a majority of 7,600 votes. The victory for the party is paraticularly significant when considering that the Nationalist Party (NP) had won a 13,000-vote majority in the previous election.
  • 4 April 1994: Ugo Mifsud Bonnici is elected President.
  • 22 Feb 1992: Parliamentary elections result in NP's victory (51.8%, 36 seats) over MLP (46.5%; 33 seats).
  • 12 May 1987: Edward Fenech Adami becomes Prime Minister.
  • 21 Sep 1964: Independence from the United Kingdom.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.