Constitutional Background

The Constitution was last amended in 1994 to permit President Carlos Menem (Peronists) to be re-elected (cf. Section 90). One of most striking features of his government is the rigid currency-board system invented by Economy Minister Domingo Cavallo, by which the peso is fixed to the US dollar.

History and News

  • 1999: Next presidential elections. 
  • April 1997: Former finance minister Domingo Cavallo founds the new party Action for the Republic aimed at cleansing Argentina's ministries of corruption. 
  • July 1996: Defence minister Oscar Camilion resigns after a federal judge ruled that his immunity should be lifted for enquiry into a cover-up of arms deals. 
  • 11 July 1996: Justice minister Rodolfo Barra leaves office after a magazine reveals his former membership in a neo-Nazi student group which attacked a Buenos Aires synagogue in 1963. 
  • 30 June 1996: Fernando de la Rua (Radical Party) wins 40% of the vote and becomes mayor of central Buenos Aires. 
  • 26 June 1996: Menem announces a combination of cuts in government jobs and the introduction of four new ministries. 
  • 14 May 1995, Buenos Aires: President Carlos Menem is re-elected for a second term, winning in all 23 provinces. His party Justicialist Party (PJ) gained absolute majority defeating the traditional oppositional party Union Civica Radical (UCR). 
  • 22 Aug 1994: Amendment to the Constitution.
  • 1989: Carlos Menem wins presidential elections and ends the presidency of Raul Alfonsin (Radical Party) which ended in economic chaos.
  • 1957: Amendment to the Constitution.
  • 1898: Amendment to the Constitution.
  • 1866: Amendment to the Constitution.
  • 1860: Amendment to the Constitution.
  • 1853: Constitution adopted by dictate.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.