Constitutional Background

Norway is a constitutional monarchy known for its ancient constitution.  The state is not a member of the EU; membership initiatives have failed in two referendums. The secularization of the State in 2012 still kept some provisions about the special position of the Evangelical-Lutheran Church as Norway's Church (§ 16).

History and News

  • 2012: Constitution amended: Separation of church and state; it is no longer required that half of the members of parliament be members of the Norwegian Church.
  • 2006: Constitution amended: Parliament changes from bicameral to unicameral system.
  • 1990: Constitution amended.
  • 1905: Independence from Sweden. Constitution amended.
  • 1897: Constitution amended: Prohibition of Jesuits and Monastic orders is abolished.
  • 1884: Constitution amended: Establishment of Parliamentarism (supremacy of the Storting over the governing Council).
  • 1851: Constitution amended: Jews are no longer prohibited from entering the Realm.
  • 17 May 1814: Constitution adopted, following the defeat of Napoleon.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.