Constitutional Background

The ICL-Edition of Syria's Constitution only covers the initial 1973 version. We do not yet have information about amendments.

Syria has a Sunni muslim majority.

History and News

  • 10 June 2000: Death of Assad; immediate proclamation of his son Bashar as new Baath leader and successor.
  • 1982: Hama insurrection of Sunni muslims against the regime of President Assad, who is a member of a small Shia sect; thousands of civilians are dying in the bombardment of the city.
  • 1973: Assad initially succeeds in a surprise attack on Israel.
  • 1970: Defense Minister Hafez Assad succeeds in a military coup (the 10th during 20 years) and becomes President.
  • 1967: Syria loses the Gloan Heights to Israel.
  • 1963: Baath party comes to power. 
  • 1946: Independence from France after British rule, the country becomes a republic and a charter member of the United Nations (UN). 
  • 1922: League of Nations declares French mandate over Syria. 
  • 300: Syria becomes a Bycantine province. 
  • 64 B.C.: Syria becomes a province of the Roman Empire. 
  • 333 B.C.: Syria becomes part of Alexander the Great's empire. 
  • 1800 B.C.: Today's north-east city 'Tell Leilan' was established as the capital 'Shubat Enlil' by Assyrian King Shamshi-Adad I.
  • 5000 B.C.: First habitations on the territory of today's Syria.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.