Constitutional Background

Somalia is traditionally run by about 100 clans. Until now, there is no inclination to build anything like a formal state. Somaliland and its "capital" Hargeisa are doing quite well economically, with trade coming in from Saudi Arabia over the harbor town Berbera.

History and News

  • 1 Aug 1996: Muhammad Farrah Aideed, who wrecked UN peacekeeping efforts, dies of gunshot wounds; his sun Hussein is proclaimed successor.
  • July 1995, Mogadischu: Clan chief Aideed announces creation of an army. Atto gets arrested in Nairobi. President Daniel arap Moi of neighbouring Kenia warns Somali warlords not to conduct clan fights beyond the border.
  • 19 June 1995, Mogadishu: The SNA (Somali National Alliance) replaces governing Farah Aidid by Osman Atto. Aidid nominates himself "President" which is, with Ali Mahdi (North-Mogadishu) and Ibrahim Egal (Somaliland), the third "presidency."
  • 1992-1995: Unsuccessful intervention by the United States and the United Nations.
  • 1991: Somaliland, the northern part of Somalia, proclaimed its independence.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.