Constitutional Background

Liberia was founded in 1822 when U.S. slaves were set free in this part of Western Africa.  It is fully independent since 1847.  The country is strongly influenced by Nigeria.

History and News

  • 2004: Interim government of former rebel groups LURD and MODEL under the businessman Gyude Bryant, protected by the world's largest UN peacekeeping force of 15.000 troops.  UN conducts demobilisation to disarm teenage killers.
  • 11 August 2003: West African ECOMIL troups led by Nigeria and supported by some US marines moved in when guerilla factions LURD and MODEL (backed by Côte d'Ivoire and Guinea) forced president Taylor into Nigerian exile.  He nominates his deputy Moses Blah president.
  • 1997-2003: Election and presidency of Charles Taylor.  His government subsequently sponsored revolts in Sierra Leone, Côte d'Ivoire and Guinea, profiting from Sierra Leone's diamonds.
  • April 1996: War is resumed when forces loyal to faction leaders Charles Taylor and Alhaji Kromah attack rival factions in Monrovia; thousands of residents flee to US facilities.
  • 14 Nov 1995: Presidential and Parliamentary Elections as fixed by Liberian Treaty signed on 21 Dec 1994.
  • Aug 1995: Taylor meets with Nigerian ruler Sani Abacha and agrees on a truce and the foundation of a Council of State (Abuja peace accord). In Sep 1995, a transitional coalition government under Wilton Sankawulo is formed.
  • 1990: Civil order ends when President Samuel Kanyon Doe is tortured and killed by rebel forces under Prince Johnson -- a former ally of Taylor. The ensuing First civil war persists until 1997.
  • 1989: Charles Taylor begins a revolt against President Samuel Doe who gets Nigerian support in the form of peacekeeping forces.
  • 6 Jan 1986: Constitution is adopted.
  • 1980-1990: Presidency of Samuel Doe. He killed Tolbert with the help of other young soldiers.  Much of the educated class flees the country.  The national income resorts to US payments for a CIA spy base targeted against Liberia.
  • 1971-1980: Presidency of William Tolbert.
  • 1944-1971: Presidency of William Tubman.
  • 26 July 1847: Liberia becomes independent, but stays under US influence.
  • 15 Dec 1821: Captain Robert Stockton, agent of the American Colonisation Society, forced King Peter at Cape Mesurado to sell the land, thereby founding America's African colony Liberia.  Liberia is the only country colonised by freed American slaves.  They themselves formed an aristocracy of settlers, enslaved the locals, but also brought roads, schools, and economic development.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.