Constitutional Background

The Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville) is distinct from the much larger Democratic Republic of the Congo (Congo-Kinshasa). The current government under President Sassou established its power with the Fundamental Act (1997).

The 1992 Constitution of the Democratic Republic of Congo provides for a strong presidency in a parliamentary system with two houses and features an independent judiciary and a catalog of fundamental rights. One of the Constitutions specialties is the extensive catalog of provisions about the family (Art. 38-45) and the environment (Art. 46-48). It also prohibits certain amendments of the Constitution (Art. 178 V-VI).

History and News

  • July 2009: Presidential elections, with much boycott among opposion candidates, confirm Sassou for another seven-year term.
  • March 2002: Presidential elections won by Sassou with 89%.
  • 20 Jan 2002: New Constitution adopted by Referendum.
  • 1997-1999: Congo Civil War.
  • 24 Oct 1997: Fundamental Act suspends the 1992 constitution after General Denis Sassou-Nguesso, with the help of Angola, overthrows Lissouba.
  • Aug 1992: Multi-party elections. Lissouba becomes president.
  • 15 March 1992: New Constitution adopted by referendum leads to multi-party elections and the presidency of Pascal Lissouba.
  • 1968: Military coup d'état followed by a socialist government unter the presidency of Marien Ngouabi.
  • 1963: Constitution adopted.
  • 15 Aug 1960: Independence.
  • 1910: Brazzaville becomes the capital of French Equatorial Africa (AEF).
  • 1908-1960: Middle Congo is a French colony.
  • 1903: Statute of Autonomy.
  • 1891: Region becomes French colony.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.